Learning to Love Myself Reflecting on The Greatest Love of All – Whitney Houston

Although my human journey has been rough, I know I am here for the lessons it gave me.  I’ve experienced deep brokenness and if I left myself in brokenness, I would never have fully experienced my mission.   

Our life is like a play and the people in our lives are actors in the play to give us the experience we need in order to accomplish what we came here to do.  Regardless in human terms how much they hurt us, on a spiritual plane it is great love that is expressed to us.  Everything that happens to us is for the purpose of completing this life’s journey.

Sometimes it is hard to hold onto that truth in the midst of all the lessons.  Sometimes I forget.  Sometimes I long for spirit because the journey at times seems endless in this human form.  I long to find meaning while understanding the significance of my transformation.  I feel impatient even as the stirrings of life within my heart and soul are awakening me. 

While I came to understand the other day the shadow side of my unworthiness, I struggle yet to find resolution within me.  I seek outside of myself to find the love and validation I yearn to receive.  What I seek outside of myself is what I need to find within myself and once found within myself I find it matching outside myself.   As long as I do not find within myself the love and value of me, then I will always be seeking for it.  God has asked that I look in the mirror and love on myself.  When I first started this exercise, I couldn’t do it because what reflected back to me was what my parents reflected back to me:  disdain, hatred, repulsion.  When that is the reflection, seeing my heart is tough.  I persevered allowing for transformation.  

Dear Mary:  I love you.  I appreciate you.  I am glad you are alive and proud of your choices.  I love you.  I love your heart, your kindness and gentleness.  I love your soul.  I am glad you are alive.    You are so brave and courageous.  You fall down and you get back up.  As much as you’ve been hurt by love, your capacity to love is great.  I know you feel afraid sometimes.  Everyone does and you are choosing to move past the fear.   You are wonderfully creative.  Your ability to communicate through the written word and touch the hearts of people is amazing.  You are amazing.  You are incredibly talented in putting businesses together.  You are able to take an idea and develop it into wonderful  opportunities.  You are strong and beautiful.  You are worthy of all good that comes your way.  You are worthy of having the full experience you desire in this lifetime.   I honor you and welcome you fully to life.  I promise to take of you and be faithful to you.   I love you, Mary.

When I write that, I feel love for myself so the exercise is having a deep impact with me.  As I write that I see my beautiful inner child celebratin in ecstatic joy to know the experience of love.

 Learning to love yourself, myself, is so much a part of transformation.  Transformation requires the absolute knowing of who I am and that I love me.   Whitney Houston’s Song “The Greatest Love of All” speaks volume about love and loyalty to self.

I believe the children are our are future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be
Everybody searching for a hero
People need someone to look up to
I never found anyone to fulfill my needs
A lonely place to be
So I learned to depend on me

I decided long ago, never to walk in anyone’s shadows
If I fail, if I succeed
At least I live as I believe
No matter what they take from me
They can’t take away my dignity
Because the greatest love of all
Is happening to me
I found the greatest love of all
Inside of me
The greatest love of all
Is easy to achieve
Learning to love yourself
It is the greatest love of all

I believe the children are our future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be

[Chorus]

And if by chance, that special place
That you’ve been dreaming of
Leads you to a lonely place
Find your strength in love

This entry was posted in Emotional Abuse, Loving Self, Physical Abuse, Sexual Abuse, Transformation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

